VegfestUK Latest News

Nominations

VEGFESTUK 2014 AWARDS NOMINATIONS

 

Here are the nominees for VegfestUK 2014 awards:


BEST VEGGIE ACCOMMODATION

    Lancrigg
    La Suite West
    Loaf B&B
    VeggieHotels
    BayTree House
    Fern Tor
    EarthConnections.co.uk
    Veganbnb Travel
    Tremeifion Vegetarian Hotel
    Green Lodge


BEST COCONUT PRODUCT

    Cocofina - coconut water
    Koko Dairy Free - coconut milk
    Coconut Collaborative - coconut yoghurt
    Booja Booja - hullabaloo ice cream
    Smooze - coconut fruit ices
    Bessant and Drury - coconut ice cream
    Coyo - coconut yoghurt
    Okobay - coconut fruit ices
    Go Max - Mahalo candy bar (vegan bounty bar)
    The Primal Kitchen - coconut & macadamia bar


BEST PUBLICATION

    Get Fresh!
    Cook Vegetarian
    Vegan Life Magazine
    Vegetarian Living
    Outrage
    VivaLife
    The Vegan
    Fresh Vegan
    Vegan Health & Fitness
    Growing Green International


BEST VEGAN MEAT

    Frys - traditional burger
    VBites - chicken style pieces
    Vegusto - hotdog
    Bute Island - Vegandeli smoked chorizo
    Wheaty - doner kebab
    Dragonfly - burgers
    Grano e Vita - Muscolo di Grano strips
    Gillie Food - soy jerky
    Dee's Traditional Vegan & Gluten-Free Sausages
    GranoVita - mock duck


BEST VEGAN DRINKS

    Club Mate
    Oatly
    Provamel
    Equinox Kombucha
    Rebel Kitchen
    Rice Dream
    Good Hemp
    Pitfield
    Gusto
    Soul Juices


BEST VEGAN CAKES, SWEETS & DESSERT

    Pudology
    Ms Cupcake
    Goody Good Stuff
    Ananda Foods
    The Heavenly Cake Company
    Food Heaven
    The Living Food Kitchen - Raw Cashew Lemon Cheesecake
    Big Fat Vegan Bakery
    Blueberry Swirl
    Rawsome raw cakes


BEST VEGAN SNACK BARS & CHOCOLATES

    Nakd
    Pulsin
    Frank Bars
    Tropical Wholefoods
    Kinetic
    Ombar
    Plamil Foods
    Vego
    The Raw Chocolate Company
    Moo Free Chocolates


BEST VEGAN FASHION & FOOTWEAR

    Wills Vegan Shoes
    Eco Vegan Shoes
    Vegetarian Shoes
    Hempish
    Bohohemp
    Freerangers
    THTC
    The Hemp Shop
    Unite 4 the Animals
    Fashion-conscience.com


BEST VEGAN BODYCARE

    Yaoh
    Buddha Beauty
    Raw Gaia
    JASON
    Lush
    Honesty Cosmetics
    Sukin
    Living Naturally soapnuts
    Little Blue Hen Soap
    Bulldog


BEST VEGAN SHOP

    Vx
    Alternative Stores
    Green Valley Trading Company
    Vegan Store
    Unicorn Wholefoods
    Vegan.co.uk
    Vegonia
    Rice Up Wholefoods
    Utopi-ish
    Magpie


BEST CATERERS SERVING VEGAN FOOD

    Bangwok
    Happy Maki
    The Sunshine Kitchen
    St Best Caribbean Caterers
    VegOut
    Cashew Catering
    Titbits Catering
    Buen Apetito
    Shambhu's
    Veggies


BEST VEGAN CELEBRITY

    John Robb
    Macka B
    Neil Robinson
    Sarah Jane Honeywell
    Andrew O'Neill
    Fiona Oakes
    Mellissa Morgan
    Dean Howell
    Patrik Baboumian
    Sara Pascoe


BEST VEGGIE RESTAURANT

    Food for Friends
    Ginger Vegetarian Cafe
    Treetop Cafe
    Acorn Vegetarian Kitchen
    Mello Mello
    The Egg Cafe
    El Piano
    Bistro 1847
    Mono Cafe
    Wildebeast Cafe


BEST VEGAN BLOGGER

    Little Miss Meat Free
    Veggies.co.uk
    Mouthwatering Vegan
    Chocolate and Beyond
    TeenVGN
    Veganoo
    Essential Vegan
    Flavourphotos
    Vegan Recipe Hour
    Fat Gay Vegan

 

Voting opens on July 1st at www.vegfest.co.uk/vote


The awards presentation ceremony will take place at VegfestUK London 2014, on Saturday September 27th at 5pm in the Performance Area, at Olympia West (W14 8UX). Event website www.london.vegfest.co.uk

 

VegfestUK 2013 awards results at www.london.vegfest.co.uk/2013-awards-results

As always, a big shout out to everyone who has not been nominated but deserves to be, and a big shout out to all the unseen heroes behind the scenes that have helped some of our nominees so much - true stars


Our awards are about celebrating the best of the vegan lifestyle and honouring some of those who are making big efforts to help this lifestyle become accessible to everyone on the planet. They are set up in a spirit of unity and positive energy.

 

Click here to buy advance tickets for VegfestUK London

 

2013 Nominations

Best Place to eat
• Mono www.monocafebar.com 
• Giro's Vegan Café http://warzonecollective.com 
• Vegetarian Food Studio www.vegetarianfoodstudio.co.uk 
• Earth Café www.earthcafe.co.uk 
• Lancrigg www.lancrigg.co.uk 
• Ginger www.facebook.com/pages/Ginger-Vegetarian-Cafe 
• Café Kino www.cafe-kino.com 
• 42Raw http://42raw.co.uk 
• VBites www.vbites.com 
• Forest Green Rovers FC www.forestgreenroversfc.com

 

Best Beauty Product
• Bohemian Chic Minerals - Eyeshadow www.bohemianchicminerals.co.uk 
• Fresh Therapies - Nail Varnish remover www.freshtherapies.com 
• Vegan Faces - Face Paints www.veganfacesuk.co.uk 
• Living Naturally - Soap Nuts soap and shampoo www.soapnuts.co.uk 
• Jason - Coco Butter Moisturiser www.jasonnaturalcare.co.uk 
• Lush - Bath Bomb www.lush.co.uk 
• Mimi's Miracle - Face Polish www.mimismiracle.co.uk 
• Natural Spa Supplies - Hemp Oil Soap www.naturalspasupplies.com 
• Sukin Natural Bodycare - Night Cream www.cressuk.com 
• herbfarmacy - Replenish Face Cream www.herbfarmacy.co.uk

 

Best Veggie Meat product

• Marigold - Braised Tofu www.marigoldhealthfoods.com 
• Granovita - Mock Duck www.granovita.co.uk  
• Redwood - Beef Pasty www.redwoodfoods.co.uk 
• Goodlife - Spicey Beanburger www.goodlife.co.uk 
• Topas Wheaty - Doner Kebab www.wheaty.de 
• Dees - Omega Burger www.dees.ie 
• Fry's - Pepper Steak Pie www.frysvegetarian.co.uk
• Granovita - Original Pate www.granovita.co.uk 
• Aunty Jee's - Curry www.auntyjee.co.uk 
• Dragonfly - Burger www.dragonflyfoods.com

 

Best Dairy-Free Product

• Provamel - Rice Coconut Drink www.provamel.co.uk 
• Razzle Dazzle - Ice Cream www.razzledazzleices.co.uk 
• Bute Island - Sheese www.buteisland.com 
• Oatly - Chocolate Oat Drink www.oatly.com 
• Pudology - Strawberry Puds www.pudology.com 
• Good Hemp - Hemp Milk www.goodwebsite.co.uk 
• Koko Dairy Free - Coconut Drink www.kokodairyfree.com 
• Vegusto - No-Moo Piquant Cheese www.vegusto.co.uk 
• Bessant & Drury - Ice Cream www.bessantanddrury.com 
• Booja Booja - Stuff in a Tub www.boojabooja.com

 

Best Raw Product
• Raw Choc Co - Chocolate coated Mulberries www.therawchocolatecompany.com 
• Nakd - Snack Bar www.naturalbalancefoods.co.uk/nakd 
• The Living Food Kitchen - Raw Blueberry Cheesecak www.thelivingfoodkitchen.com 
• Rawsome - Raw Berry Cake www.rawsome.co.uk 
• Raw Health - Energy Bars www.rawhealth.uk.com 
• Nosh Detox - Raw Smoothie www.noshdetox.com 
• Pulsin' - Snack Bar www.pulsin.co.uk 
• Inspiral - Raw Ice Cream www.inspiralled.net/ice-cream 
• Raw Living - Be The Change Shamanic Chocolate Bar www.rawliving.eu 
• Mr Popple - Raw Chocolate www.mrpopples.co.uk


Best Sweets and Cakes
• Moo Free - Dairy Free chocolate easter egg www.moofreechocolates.com 
• Ms Cupcake - triple chocolate vegan cupcakes www.mscupcake.co.uk 
• Goody Good Stuff - Cola Breeze sweets www.goodygoodstuff.com
• SweetcheeksLtd - Cupcakes www.sweetcheeksltd.co.uk 
• The Heavenly Cake Co - Double Chocolate Cake www.theheavenlycakecompany.co.uk
• ombar - Goji Berry Chocolate bar www.ombar.co.uk

• Plamil - No added Sugar Chocolate flakes www.plamilfoods.co.uk

 K + M Catering - Baklava 

• Shambhu's - Lemon and Coconut Cheesecake http://shambhus.co.uk

• Siesta - Carob bars www.danddchocolates.com


Best Publication 
• Vegetarian Living www.vegetarianliving.co.uk 
• The Vegan www.vegansociety.com 
• Cook Vegetarian www.cookveg.co.uk 
• LABL www.ethicsandhealth.org.uk/LABL_MAGAZINE 
• Vegetarian Guides www.vegetarianguides.co.uk 
• The Vegan Passport www.vegansociety.com 
• The Chip Butty Vegan http://chipbuttyvegan.weebly.com 
• Outrage www.animalaid.org.uk 
• Viva! Life www.viva.org.uk/vivalife.html 
• Ethical Consumer www.ethicalconsumer.org


Best Blogger of the year
• Vegan In Brighton http://veganinbrighton.blogspot.co.uk 
• To Happy Vegans www.tohappyvegans.com/wordpress 
• Messy Vegetarian Cook www.messyvegetariancook.com 
• Essential Vegan http://essentialvegan.blogspot.co.uk 
• News for Vegans www.news.for-vegans.co.uk 
• Fat Gay Vegan http://fatgayvegan.com 
• Veganoo www.veganoo.net 
• Hasta La Vegan www.hastalavegan.com 
• Maple Spice www.maplespice.com 
• Smokin' Tofu http://smokintofu.wordpress.com

 

Best Clothes & Fashion
• Vegetarian Shoes www.vegetarian-shoes.co.uk 
• Hempish www.hempish.com 
• Boho Hemp www.bohohemp.co.uk 
• Beyond Skin www.beyondskin.co.uk 
• Freerangers www.freerangers.co.uk 
• Eco Vegan Shoes www.eco-vegan-shoes.com 
• Neon Collective www.neoncollective.com 
• Vx www.vegancross.com 
• Stella McCartney www.stellamccartney.com 
• Fashion - Conscience www.fashion-conscience.com

 

Best Caterer
• Cashew Catering www.cashewcatering.co.uk 
• Titbits www.titbitscatering.co.uk 
• Spice Up Your Life
• The Hungry Gecko www.thehungrygecko.com 
• Teatime Collective www.teatimecollective.co.uk 
• Fairfoods www.fairfoods.org.uk
• Falafest
• Wild Futures www.wildfutures.org 
• Veg Out www.veg-out-sussex.com 
• Something Fishy www.something-fishy.org.uk

 

Best Celebrity 
• Lily Cole - Model www.lily-cole.org 
• Russell Brand - Comedian www.russellbrand.tv 
• Johnny Marr - Musician www.johnny-marr.com 
• Bill Clinton - Ex President www.clintonfoundation.org 
• Alicia Silverstone - Actress https://twitter.com/AliciaSilv 
• Moby - Musician www.moby.com 
• Heather Mills - Skiier www.heathermills.org 
• Jamie Kilstein - Comedian http://jamiekilstein.com 
• Macka B - Musician www.mackab.com 
• Andrew O'Neill - Comedian www.andrewoneill.co.uk

 

Best City to Live in for Veggies and Vegans
• Glasgow
• Liverpool
• London
• Brighton
• Nottingham
• Birmingham
• Bristol
• Swansea
• Sheffield
• Manchester

 

Best Campaign Group 
• Sea Shepherd www.seashepherd.org 
• Veggies www.veggies.org.uk 
• Viva! www.viva.org.uk
• League Against Cruel Sports www.league.org.uk 
• PETA www.peta.org.uk 
• Vegetarian Society/National Vegetarian Week www.vegsoc.org 
• BUAV www.buav.org 
• The Vegan Society www.vegansociety.com 
• Animal Aid www.animalaid.org.uk 
• Captive Animals Protection Society www.captiveanimals.org

 

Best individual achievement of the decade


A special award, introduced this year to celebrate VegfestUK's tenth birthday. As with any award of this kind, there are always vast amounts of people behind each nominee, and to those we salute your support for these ten individuals who have changed the face of the UK over the last decade in terms of putting the vegan lifestyle well and truly on the map. And of course there are many many more who could have been nominated, equally if not more deserving to be included. To those, again, we salute you and your efforts in helping make a decent future for generations to come. It's all about a team effort, we know that.


Karin Ridgers - Karin should get the award because not only is she Founder of VeggieVision, the internet veggie TV channel, but also runs Mad Promotions, a veggie PR company. And in between getting loads of famous veggies and vegans onto the radio, Karin gets herself on the radio countless times across the UK and is the best advert in the world for the lifestyle - super positive, bubbly, fun - awesome. Couldn't think of a better person to win.


Kerry McCarthy - vegan MP for Bristol North for nearly a decade now, Kerry has got the vegan lifestyle firmly onto the political agenda time and again, in many different guises. One day all politicians will be like Kerry. She has spearheaded so many worthwhile causes we've lost count. A top girl and well worthy of the award should she win it.


Kevin White - Kevin is a very decent fella who has built the West Midlands Vegan Festival from scratch as it enters its 6th year in 2013. Growing rapidly without losing its grass roots feel, the festival is a testament to Kevin and his team of volunteers, but it is Kevin who heads it up and takes the strain , with little or no resources but for his endless enthusiasm and skills, and therefore most worthy of the award for best vegan show for many miles around.


Fiona

Yaoh